Midweek Motivation: Norwegian Fashion Blogger, Iben Bergstrøm

INGRI:DAHL loves Iben

The thought behind Midweek Motivation is to give you an extra boost of motivation in the middle of the week. To share the personal stories behind people in different industries that have had success in multiple arenas. We also ask these role models to give advice on how to succeed.  This week we interviewed Iben Bergstrøm, the lovely blogger behind the blog, Despite Color. Enjoy!

INGRI:DAHL loves Iben

1. Who are you and what do you do?

Hi, my name is Iben Bergstrøm. I have my own consulting firm, and I work as a communications consultant. I’m also the girl behind Despite Color, a fashion blog. I’ve gained so much experience from blogging, so I decided to turn it into a business. I specialize in blog marketing, blog relations and product placement on blogs. In addition to that I sell charts of different blog networks to companies, and I create social media strategies for companies. Blogs are on many levels the most powerful advertising tool in our time, it has it’s own language and codes. Truly fascinating. When it comes to my own blog, I love sharing my crazy style with people and see how I can inspire them to think differently.

INGRI:DAHL loves Iben

2. Your favorite trip ever and why?

My favourite trip was when I and my better half went to Santorini. It’s a fascinating, warm and mystical island. It’s rare that one experiences total silence in ones head, but there I sure did.

3. What is your favorite 3D movie and which one are you looking forward to? 

I’m going to see The Avengers as soon as possible!

INGRI:DAHL loves Iben

4.Who is your style icon?

I think style icons is such a clichè, people inspire me. All kinds of clothing, a special brooch or some cool socks can make me drift into a direction I never went before, stylewise of course.

5. What are three things you can’t live without?

Sadly enough, my computer. It’s as heavy as a brick, and I have to carry it everywhere. The second thing is my cuticle clipper, it’s quite an addiction. And the third is my MAC foundation, it makes me look awake every day.

Ingri:dahl loves Iben

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career? 

My best advice is to do as many projects involving your passion as humanly possible. Find other ressourceful people to collaborate with and make it fun. It’s so important to learn how to work with other people, how important it is to go through with it eventhough you don’t get paid and ofcourse how to turn your passion into a career. Create a one-person firm, and take it from there. I’ve done so much volunteerwork and pro-bono, and a couple of years ago I could finally start to name a price. That was bliss.

3D glasses Iben

Hope you enjoyed this week’s Midweek Motivation!

P.S. Would love to hear what you think of this column: is there any other questions you would like us to ask, any careers you are particularly interested in, etc?

We would love to hear from you!

