Midweek motivation – Photographer Tamara Maddox

This week’s Midweek Motivation is the very talented photographer, Tamara Maddox, who is INGRI:DAHL’s Spring Collection photographer. Her story inspired us at INGRI:DAHL, so we asked her to answer the Midweek Motivation questions in between photo sets and editing. Thanks, Tamara!
1. Who are you and what do you do?
I am Tamara Maddox, and I am kind of a Jack-of-all-Trades. I wouldn’t call myself a professional of any certain category yet, other then just creative entrepreneur. My background and Degree is in Technical Theatre (Design and Construction). While in college I spend most of my time in the scene shop building the sets and painting backdrops and murals. After college, I have built furniture, painted, drafted, event planned, costume designed, worked as a seamstress and started my own Photography business. I recently graduated from college and am in that floating zone like most college graduates. About a year ago I took my passion of Creative Photography and started doing it as a side job, and now it kind of took off!

2. Your favorite trip ever and why?
My favorite trip has to be when I went backpacking in the Grand Cannon last summer with my husband. It was such an amazing experience. It truly is a site that takes your breath away. I have always been totally in love with nature, growing up in Missouri with an outdoorsy family. My family has always been really into camping, backpacking and hunting, however this trip was a very surreal moment for me. I am a woman of way too many words (ask my husband) however this trip I was totally enamored that lead me to be speechless by the endless beauty! There is truly nothing better then taking some time out from the craziness of life, and go without any electronics for a while.

3. What is your favorite 3d movie and which one are you looking forward to?
So far I have to go with the Classic, I felt like Titanic in 3D was my favorite 3D movie so far! It brought me right back to 8th grade when the movie came out and I fell madly in love with Leo. Of course although the movie wasn’t filmed to be for 3D, I felt it really added to the movie and of course left me wanting to “never let go”!

4.Who is your style icon?
Honestly I am terrible at style, I wore two pairs of jeans that were “paint pants” most of high school and college. In fact, I am pretty sure when I was out of work clothes, no one recognized me. I have always really looked up to Jackie O, Audrey Hepburn, Petty Paige and Norma Jean before she became Marilyn Monroe. I am such a sucker for the 1940’s -1950’s pinup girls! Although I may not always dress in dresses and wedges, my heart is with the 1940’s!

5. What are three things you can’t live without?
As far as outlets, I would not be able to live without creativity. I know this may sound silly, but I have about 30 creative outlets, and even those are not enough some days! The other two things I could never live without are my friends and family because they are the first people that told me to grab on to my creative juices and never let go! The last thing I couldn’t live without is my camera. Even before I started doing photography, I often would document my process during productions in theatre, film and even just my crafting adventures with my camera. Although my cameras have changed many times over the years from a cheap disposable to the beauty I use now, but never the less it has been my ultimate partner is crime!

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career?
If I could only tell someone one thing about pursuing their passion as a career is “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” Said by Confucius. I know at first it feels daunting because what you might have passion for something that may not pay your bills, right away. I have struggled with this in my life, because being that my education is in Theatre and Design, in this economy it is a struggle to find great paying career that will cover the high cost of living that is in California in this field right now. I have had to work many odd jobs, mostly draining retail jobs, scene shops and even an amusement park water ride! Although I have had to do my passion as a part time gig, I still have so much passion that my “creative outlet” it turned into a full blown part time job and had inspired others to not give up on their love of arts and creativity. Although I personally being an adult I wasn’t able to quit my day job, but someday that is my goal I know it will be worth it! My Mother always told me “if there is a will, there is a way.” This has driven me to do what I need to do, to inevitably lead to a career in the field of the arts and creativity!

Hope you enjoyed this interview as much as we did. Check out more of her stuff on her website here or on her Facebook here. Stay tuned for the fabulous pictures of the Spring Collection 2012 that Tamara shot today. We can’t wait to share those with you!

Have a great day!

We would love to hear from you!

