Midweek Motivation: Designer Pat behind fashion label, Dresstronomy

1. Who are you and what do you do?

Hi I am Pat from Singapore – I am one of the designers for our own fashion label, Dresstronomy.

About dresstronomy
The independent fashion label brings prêt-à-porter collections that embrace femininity and sensuality in an understated way. From the conceptualization of structure and cut, fabric selection, creation of finer details to the final masterpiece – designs are kept minimalistic yet intricate, classic yet novel. The designers continue to be inspired with fresh concepts and themes, injecting new twists on classic silhouettes, creating contemporary designs for vivacious women who love, laugh and celebrate life.

2. Your favorite trip ever and why?

I LOVE all my trips, being in completely new and fresh settings, meeting new people and hearing their experiences are always very inspiring to me.

I particularly enjoyed myself in Melbourne. We were on a road trip from Melbourne city centre down the entire Great Ocean Road coast, passing by the awesome 12 apostles, spending our nights in cottages right smack in the middle of wineries (great idea if you intend to get tipsy, which we were most of the time). We spent our days ogling at whatever nature had to offer (which was pretty splendid), and our nights sipping champagne with grapes and strawberries. The food was glorious – the ingredients were amazingly fresh. It was also the first trip I took with the love of my life, who has since become my husband. It was simply magical.

3. What is your favorite 3D movie and which one are you looking forward to?

It has to be Avatar – The make-believe world of avatars and the love story came alive in 3D, teleporting me right into the midst of the action.

I don’t have any 3D movies I am particularly looking forward to but I really do wish someone will make Jurassic Park come alive in 3D. Dinos are a thing of the past, so imagine how awesome it would be to experience in 3D, the grand dinos grazing around in the open pastures or ferociously charging at you. All the excitement without the dangers – what’s there not to love!

4.Who is your style icon?

I don’t have a style icon. I love way too many beautiful things to stay faithful to a singular style. But I do have designers I look up to and hope to emulate. Elie Saab is one of them – I love the intricacy of his designs (the beading, draping, cuts), fashion is truly an art form when it’s an Elie Saab.

5. What are three things you can’t live without?

Christ, Family and Friends – these are core to who I am, and who I want to be.

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career?

Enjoy every moment of your life. Don’t be afraid to take chances, you never know till you have taken the first step out. We designed our pieces with an image of the Dresstronomy woman – The Dresstronomy woman doesn’t care for half measures, she is vivacious and dynamic, she loves, she laughs and she celebrates life.

We would love to hear from you!

