Midweek Motivation: Eve Thomas

It is time for another Midweek Motivation interview. Some motivation to pick you up and give you some extra energy for the rest of the week is this week provided by Eve Thomas (Follow her on @EveLovesLuxury)

1. Who are you and what do you do?

I am Eve Thomas and I’m a writer and editor. I currently work on luxury magazines for automobile drivers, hotel guests and private jet owners. In my free time I write and direct plays and work on the non-profit blog The Greater Goods http://the greatergoods.org as well as on some other (top secret) media projects.

2. Your favorite trip ever and why?

Given my field, I don’t dare choose just one. I am about to record a segment on dream vacations for the Kelly Alexander Show. A few I’ll mention: Eden Rock in St. Barths. One of the few cases where a tropical hotel’s reality is even better than the photos. I stayed in the 16,000-square-foot Villa Rockstar, which has a private gym and recording studio with the mixing board John Lennon used on “Imagine.”

Also, I’ve got to mention the Shangri-La Hotel Paris. I’ve never been big on the Eiffel Tower before, not even when I lived in Paris. So clichéd, right? But it’s hard not to fall in love with it when it’s right there, across the Seine from the hotel. I could even see it from my bathtub.

3. What is your favorite 3D movie and which one are you looking forward to?


Prometheus was excellent because the 3D was seamless until they really wanted to impress you – like with the glowing maps and blueprints of the universe. As a good Canadian, I should probably say I’m most excited for Life of Pi. And I should really get around to reading the book.

4.Who is your style icon?

My childhood heroes taught me everything I know about fashion (and feminism): Betty and Veronica, Elvira, Phyllis Nefler from Troop Beverly Hills, Veronica Sawyer from Heathers and Pippi Longstocking. I also feel Little Edie Beale is a kindred spirit because I often wrap sweaters around my head.

5. What are three things you can’t live without?

Magazines (whatever you think of the state of print, they make the gym bearable and baths more pleasurable), my passport and pens, which I take from every hotel I visit. To paraphrase Mitch Hedberg, when you’ve got a great idea in the middle of the night you either have to find a pen or convince yourself it’s not a great idea after all.

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career?

It depends on the person and their passion. For some people, especially artists, it’s actually the worst thing they can do. It turns something they love, like photography or illustration, into a daily grind. On the other hand, there’s probably never been a better time for artists to take command of their own careers. My advice: know when to compromise and always have some personal projects going on the side. And get everything in writing.

Thanks for great answers, Eve!

One response to “Midweek Motivation: Eve Thomas

  1. Interesting profile, all the style (and feminist!) icons she references were very much a part of my childhood as well. It would be interesting to hear how and in what ways they served as teachers of feminism, as I’ve never really thought about it.

We would love to hear from you!

