Midweek Motivation: U.S. News reporter, Daniel Bortz

We at INGRI:DAHL love to interview inspiring and motivational people for our weekly Midweek Motivation column. Reading about another person’s experiences or take on how to be successful give us a kick midweek to give a little extra at our designer 3D glasses company! This week we have interviewed U.S. News reporter, Daniel Bortz. Enjoy!

1. Who are you and what do you do? My name is Daniel Bortz and I’m a personal finance reporter and editor for U.S. News & World Report. I write and edit timely, consumer-driven stories that guide our readers to make better everyday decisions with their money, such as two recent articles: “Secrets of Self-Made Millionaires” and “The Best Ways to Prevent Money Arguments with Your Spouse.”

2. Your favorite trip ever and why? Although it was only for a few days, my favorite trip was spending a weekend in Paris with two of my best friends. We were studying abroad in London at the time, and Paris was a great change of pace. I remember taking an early-evening boat ride along the Seine and just admiring the city’s stunning architecture. The delicious bakeries were also a plus.

3. What is your favorite 3D movie and which one are you looking forward to? My favorite is The Avengers. I’m already a sucker for superhero movies, but watching Iron Man and the Incredible Hulk beat the crap out of some aliens in 3D made it a lot cooler.

Since I loved Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas, I’m looking forward to seeing Frankenweenie in 3D—it’s already in theaters, but I haven’t quite mustered the courage to sneak into a kid’s movie by myself.

4. Who is your style icon? I’m not sure I have one, since I’m really lacking in my sense of fashion. But I try to take cues from Esquire’s fashion director Nick Sullivan, since the men in his fashion spreads always look so polished and put together.

5. What are three things you can’t live without? Gum to satisfy my oral fixation (I’ve recently learned it’s better than chewing ice), magazines so I have something that looks nice on my coffee table (and occasionally read), and mint chocolate chip ice cream (my guilty pleasure).

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career? Don’t listen to people who tell you it can’t be done. It’s never too early to exceed your expectations and never too late to try something new.  When you start to feel content with what you’ve achieved, push yourself further. Perseverance pays off.

Cheers,

INGRI:DAHL crew

We would love to hear from you!

