Midweek Motivation: ABC NY Correspondent, Maria Gonzalez Picatoste

We at INGRI:DAHL love to interview inspiring and motivational people for our weekly Midweek Motivation column. Reading about another person’s experiences or take on how to be successful give us a kick midweek to give a little extra at our designer 3D glasses company! This week we have interviewed ABC NY Correspondent, Maria Gonzalez Picatoste. Enjoy!

1. Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Maria Gonzalez Picatoste. I work as a journalist for a Spanish newspaper. I am their foreign correspondent in New York. I also collaborate with the Spanish start-up ArtTroop.

381147_10151072340715118_1043963970_n

2. Your favorite trip ever and why?

My fondest memories come from a two-month trip to Ireland. Although the destination wasn’t all that exciting, it was the circumstances which made it so memorable. I was 16 then. It was also the first time I traveled alone and the first time I had to work in order to support myself. Although work was hard and I disliked my obnoxious boss, I loved Dublin, Cork and the tiny village of Skull.

After Ireland came many other counties and several exotic destinations, but I have never had such a character building experience, a more wholesome time with myself and my limitations. However, I must say that the label of “my favorite trip ever” is temporary and that I look forward to challenging it soon.

205721_10150168334669001_2949671_n

3. What is your favorite 3D movie and which one are you looking forward to? 

I loved “Hugo”. I am very passionate about movies and cinema history. In that aspect, “Hugo” was beautiful, honest, deep and moving. As per its 3D effects, I must admit I was surprised. I had seen other 3D movies before, but “Hugo” found the perfect balance between storytelling and cinematography.

maria-3d-glasses-3d-movies-hugo3d

4. Who is your style icon?

Honestly, I am not sure I have one. I consider my style to be simple, but eclectic. I do not have any reference when choosing what I wear. Now that I think about it, a name that comes to mind is Katherine Hepburn. I like to wear masculine and practical clothes during the day, but extremely feminine ones for the night and special occasions. She is definitely a big reference.

291839_10150821793075118_1304270213_n

5. What are three things you can’t live without?

Laptop, cell phone and a pen. First thing that came to mind was my brother, but he is certainly not a thing.

307188_10150933513580118_203919669_n

6. What is your advice to someone who is pursuing their passion as a career?

My advise is to pursue it as if you were in love with it: head-over-heels. For sure there will be hard moments, situations in which you will be filled with doubts and concerns, or in which discouraging voices will try to bring you down. It will entail hard work. However, always ask yourself what is it that you want to do the most. If the honest response is that your passion is the only possible thing you imagine yourself doing, go for it. Eventually, everything will fall into place.

Follow her on Twitter, Facebook or read her blog!

2012-07-07 19.33.50

 

Cheers,

INGRI:DAHL crew

We would love to hear from you!